Paleo Mini Bagels

Standard

Oh. my. goodness. I am hardly able to contain my joy to share this with you!

I loved bagels as a child, whether covered in cream cheese and honey, cream cheese and slivers of salmon, pizza toppings, or any other number of fun and delicious condiments.

Before I went Paleo, I tried several premade gluten-free “bagels” from the store. I longed to find a gluten-free variety, but found none ready-made that had the taste or texture of a real bagel. All of the recipes I found online were either simple but flopped or were extremely time-consuming and detailed so I didn’t bother.

While grocery shopping with Daryl yesterday, I began *craving* bagels and cream cheese when I spotted Daiya’s strawberry cream “cheese” spread. I purchased the spread and became determined to find a Paleo-friendly version of my beloved bagel.

I tried Elana’s recipe, but none of us Baggins’ liked them. I followed the recipe and there was too much baking soda. The texture, also, was nothing like a bagel. It was more like a savory muffin in taste and texture. No pull, no chew.

Suddenly, it dawned on me that my favorite and VERY simple Paleo pizza crust recipe had that pull and chew. I already use it as pizza crust with spices added, as communion bread, and as funnel cake. I felt certain that if I poured it, much thicker than pizza crust, into my donut mold, I would have bagels. And I was RIGHT!

The best part for me is the ease of every aspect of this recipe. You don’t even need to cut the bagel in half – it cooks “in halves!”

So, here is an easy-peasy, Paleo bagels recipe:

Ingredients:
2 cups arrowroot powder
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 eggs
1/2 – 1 teaspoon Celtic sea salt
1/2-1 cup water, to consistency (I always look for “drippy gook” that clings just a little bit to the spoon as it drips off quite easily, than wet sand that is harder to work with)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Mix all ingredients until thoroughly combined. Scoop about 1/8 cup into each donut mold cavity. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes in mold, remove to cooling rack. Enjoy with your favorite toppings!
(Makes 18  mini half-bagels.)

Leave a Reply

