Birth Day Celebrations

Standard

Are any of my readers Birth Day celebrators, creating a holy moment of celebration when a child is born? If so, share what you do in the comments!

Being Paleo by necessity, I was a little disappointed when I couldn’t find any grain and dairy free sprinkles, but knew it wasn’t a big deal. I was excited when I came across a much healthier option, though, something I may just stick with even if I can eventually have grains or dairy again.

I decided to make these little coconut sprinkles with the India Tree natural food colors I have had, but the only color that took (and VERY well) was the yellow. So, I hopped to it and dug out a 1 cup jar of organic beet root powder I had made a before I got pregnant this go-around, and 1 frozen blackberry from my freezer and followed the directions for fresh fruit and powders. This was the fruity-pebble results!

photo (6)

So, I made a little kit so that Melody and Leela could put the brownies together fairly quick and easy. These are our favorite brownies. We have made these with almond butter, sunflower seed butter, AND, when I ran out we have successfully used almond flour and sunflower flour (2 cups, same as the butters). I have also run out of carob chips (Stryder cannot tolerate chocolate, so carob it is now) and used nothing to fill that in and also used an extra 1/2 cup of carob powder. It is wonderful, any of these ways.

photo (7)
I made a new-to-me frosting recipe, too, that I think is honestly… meh… a little gross, but the rest of the family loves. It reminds Daryl of his favorite frosting, buttercream (which I hate, so it’s probably why I don’t like this one so well). The frosting is in the fridge, waiting for Birth Day cake. 🙂 It’s certainly edible!

We are starting these new Birth Day traditions after a family birth friend mentioned a Birthday Party and I was obsessed intrigued! Melody wants to hang our cloth bunting banner and celebrate banner. I printed off some gender bunting banners, too (it’s the double-sided ones, here). I had JUST enough baker’s twine to string up 9 buntings, with 1 left over, so I made a little banner to plop in the brownies, too.

And, of course, we are doing the cord burning as a celebration, as well.

There is so much to celebrate in the life women carry inside of them while pregnant, the birth, and all that comes after. I feel so honored that God has given me the experiences He has – for not only the life He put within me, coming earthbound three times now, but even for my 8 miscarriages, life held short and dear. I treasure these little earthbound blessings all the more – and I cannot help but celebrate the arrival of each arrow of my quiver.

One response »

  1. Oh fun idea with the coconut! We often go to the local tea shop and buy various dried edible petals for sprinkles. Bachelor’s button have lovely color. Not sure about the frosting either…I have used other coconut products but not oil in frosting. That site though RB! It is a good thing they do not carry them in our local store I would so overindulge! And I will pretend they do not sell online ok 😉 Ahh I miss baby days…

    Like

Leave a Reply

