Natural Dishwasher Liquid

Standard

I hunted and hunted. I tried tweaking my dishwasher powder recipe to make it liquid, as leaving it dry sometimes resulted in a brick, if in just the wrong conditions (any moisture near the container). It took me years, and then a friend pinned a simple little recipe for very natural dishwasher liquid. This is from Mann’s Mooring.

I tried it the first time as it is written – it works! The next time, I decided I wanted to see if I could go even cheaper. I bought a bottle of lemon juice and iodized salt from the cheapest grocery store in town. I modified the recipe to account for lemon juice rather than whole lemons. It doesn’t gel up like the original recipe, but it works beautifully in the dishwasher. As a bonus, since I don’t have a vitamix, there are no little chunks in this that were occasionally found in the first batch (I just picked them off the freshly washed dishes and everything was fine and sparkly).
It’s also a dump-and-cook recipe, so it’s a little simpler, too!

Here’s my adapted recipe (I’ll add a picture later, when I make a fresh batch)!

  • 24 ounces lemon juice
  • 4 ounces vinegar (I have used white and apple cider vinegar, each with good success)
  • 1 cup salt

Put all ingredients in a  pot. Cook just below boiling for 10-15 minutes. Allow to cool slightly and store in glass bottle. Use 1 tablespoon per load; may need to shake before each use.

I am going to start sharing a few more of my homemade cleaning recipes in the next few weeks. I hope you enjoyed this one!

Leave a Reply

