Genetic Shut-Offs, Through Food

Standard

treatmentwithnutritionI am no medical anything. I don’t pretend to be, nor do I pretend to be an expert on any of this. I am going to simply share with you the things I have found that have helped me on my Yasko protocol journey.
Some may say I am a medical luddite – I’m okay with that. I appreciate some understanding that the medical community has realized and shared with others, but I am wary of the entire system and how it effects humanity as a whole and as an individual.

That said, genetics is one area I find beautifully fascinating and am grateful for. It is not the end-all-be-all of healthcare decision making. It’s a clue-guide, for me. Yet, to see down to the fabric of our being we are intricately woven and knit together… just, beautiful. One little thread being out of place can change the design entirely. Gently nudging it towards its proper place can make profound differences to the fabric. How can I not be fascinated and in awe of this creation of God’s?!

So. Take what I say knowing I am absolutely a novice, I am not offering you medical advice, but I am willing to share the food supplements I take to shut off certain genetic defects.

This is the protocol I have been slowly following since January 2014. Here is the list, with a little less info, just bullet points really. I’ve printed this off and have it in my Bullet Journal. This is also another, simpler to read list, at the Yasko forums.

I add things low and slow, generally. The other week, I tried adding in an enzyme supplement at 2 pills with a meal, and it didn’t go well. It was too much for my system. Upon researching what could be done or why I could be responding the way that I did, I found many people in the MTHFR-struggling community have to start at about 1/8 of a capsule, as more causes issues to start with. But, usually, I start low.

I am mindful of doing as much through food rather than supplements, but I do have three things that are not food based. I am also mindful of cost, because we are on a really insanely tight budget. But Daryl nor I are willing to throw my heath to the wind, so these are done as needed. If I run out of funding, I choose lithium over the Bs, since lithium needs to stay in balance for Bs to even work properly anyway.

farmerlove
These things are what I can currently find them the cheapest for, but if you know of cheaper sources, please do share!!

Here’s what I am currently doing (or, try to do, finances permitting):

  • cod liver oil with coconut oil (First Step Support)
  • Adenosyl/Hydroxy B12 and Folate*
  • probiotics – (gut health addressed first thing) I rotate between Yasko’s Suprema Dophilus and Miracle Health Labs, but if I find dairy-free probiotics through the amazing Uberzon and get to review them, I go that route! I also seem to be able to tolerate ferments well despite glutamate being higher in them, so I utilize those more than anything, but being in health crisis mode while trying to deal with genetic defects I add in probiotics (First Step Support)
  • in place of BeCalm spray, I was fortunate enough to have made a HUGE batch of Sleep Sound tincture when I was pregnant with Leela, equal parts valerian, passionflower, and skullcap, and the herb mix is macerated in a 1:2 ratio with the cheapest vodka I can get. I have used BeCalm spray with great effect, but the Sleep Sound tincture I make is equally effective and MUCH cheaper. It happened that I ran out of BeCalm at one point, couldn’t afford more at the time, dug into researching, and found valerian and passionflower are on the GABA/glutamate list… wonderful little trouble! The herbs are all ordered through Frontier co-op. Skullcap $18/lb, valerian $14/lb, and passion flower $11/lb. (This is connected to the COMT mutation for me mainly.)
  • Salt water Sole – I use this in place of mineral drops or Bioplasma; I purchase Celtic sea salt through Azure Standard, $2.88/lb (First Step support)
  • Moringa powder – I was using Amino Assist spray, with very good effect, but budgeting constraints, again, forced me to look for alternatives, and again, very happy result to that challenge! (for MTRR mutation)
  • acerola powder – I get this through Frontier co-op for (currently) $20/lb. It lasts a very long time! It is super high in vitamin C (especially if you make it liposomal vitamin C with some sunflower lecithin) and easy to add to to smoothies (First Step support)
  • diatomaceous earth – purchased through Azure Standard for far more affordable than I’ve found anywhere else, $1.35/pound (for CBS mutation)
  • activated charcoal (for CBS mutation)
  • matcha green tea (for COMT mutation)
  • yucca powder – I order this through Azure Standard (to decrease ammonia issues, with high protein meals)
  • lithium orotate (for the MTHFR mutation, a precursur to B vitamins, so they can actually be used)
  • mag-a-hol (for CBS mutation)
  • royal jelly  (for MTRR mutation)
  • placenta – post about this, here! (MTRR mutation)

I am not including this in my current list, but I am about to try this in the next few weeks, as I can’t tolerate the enzyme pills even in the 1/8 of a capsule per DAY. I am going to make an enzyme smoothie once every other day for awhile and see how that fares (Update 7/22/17: I handle this very well and happily!).
This will include (for one person) 1 cup coconut water kefir (homemade), 1/2 cup pineapple, 1/2 cup non-GMO papaya, 1 banana, 2-3 soaked dates for sweetness, a splash of lemon or lime juice, cinnamon, ginger, peppermint (which I won’t do once nursing), and any other fruits I feel like adding.

Some other good options for enzyme-rich fruits that are affordable are kiwi, grapes, figs, and avocados.
You could also incorporate more cucumbers in the summer, throw in some flax meal to your smoothies and baked goods, eat a bit of royal jelly, bee pollen or raw honey from a local source (the bee foods are in order from most to least expensive), make yourself some pau d’arco tea (this is useful for many ailments, as well)….

 

*On the folic acid in the Seasonal Support (and by extension, the All-In-One), Yasko has this to say (source):

“I am going to be very specific with regard to why I use low dose folic acid rather than folate as there are some MAJOR MISCONCEPTIONS out there regarding folic/folate.. Folate is basically a chain of glutamates. The difference between folic acid and folate is the stability and the length of their glutamate chains. One of the main differences between folic acid and folate is that folic acid has a SHORTER glutamate chain than folate. Folic acid is also more STABLE, so it is less likely to break down into glutamate. So, if you are MTHFR C677T++ and you take high dose folate, you potentially have a chain of unused glutamate molecules left in your system. You cannot process it efficiently to 5 methyl THF because of your SNPs. You run the risk of folate’s breaking down to release glutamate into your system. STEP 1 of this program is focused on glutamate/GABA balance. I have made significant progress for some individuals merely by getting their glutamate and GABA into balance. Thus, I am NOT choosing to add a form of folate that could break down into glutamate, especially in the population I work with. I am using only a TINY bit of folic acid, to allow FIGLU to be processed. I am NOT using high dose folic acid, as that is not going to bypass MTHFR in any event. I understand there are other programs out there that use higher doses of plain folate. Perhaps those programs are less concerned with the glutamate issue. I have specific reasons for the choices I make in terms of supplements and the forms that I use. AGAIN, natural folate has MORE GLUTAMATE residues and can break down more easily to release those glutamate molecules into your system, so I prefer to use a VERY low dose of folic acid. The use of LOW dose folic acid is a choice, to limit the risk of increased glutamate in your system. The RDA for folate/folic acid is 300 micrograms for a child that is 1 year old, up to 1,000 micrograms daily for an individual 19 years of age or older. Thus the 67 micrograms used in Seasonal Support is super low dose, especially since the body does need some folate/folic acid aside from the need for 5 methyl THF and folinic. To put this in an easily understandable perspective, a bowl of cheerios has 400 micrograms of folic acid, as compared to the 67 micrograms used in Seasonal Support. FINALLY B vitamins play a role in helping to limit viral issues. A number of viruses bind to empty B vitamin receptors and THAT is why Seasonal Support has low levels of a number of B vitamins.”

Want to read more about folic acid? Go here.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Nutrigenomic Journey | Beautiful Chaos

Leave a Reply

