The Coming Bedroom Makeover

Standard

Before Daryl and I even knew each other, he purchased a home and painted the walls in every room. When we were first married, his mom often commented to me how now I could “paint all the walls nice colors,” but aside from one color, I really didn’t care… I was grateful we had a home to live in!

Aside from the gratefulness of not being a vagabond any longer, I really did like the idea of the terracotta living room being paired with a sharp black contrasting element.
Neither he nor I knew about Dressing Your Truth at the time, but now I am quite fascinated with his color choices and my desire to use black with it! You can see most of it in this post. I’ll add more “before” pictures when I update, too.

All of the rooms but one are very “earthy.” Two rooms are some awful, dreary shade of red, and while I have not been fond of them, it was on the bottom of my “have to do” list. I’ve often thought, “I want to make these rooms peaceful and calm without feeling like a cave.” I just didn’t have a new color scheme in mind, so didn’t bother about it.

image

Then, an artist friend of mine gave me these pictures and I knew what my bedroom would look like! Everything came together in my mind, my Master Bedroom Pinterest board got cleaned up and had a few things added as my vision was honed in on.

Wanting to eliminate toxins and not add any more, I hunted for affordable paint options. This is when I came across flour paint. It’s affordable, durable, and non-toxic. It met all of my requirements, plus catered to my love of making something simple, myself.

Since I wanted light grey walls, I hunted around for coloring options that I could either obtain for free locally or at minimal cost online. I spotted this website on natural paint pigments and got excited. I have charcoal for free in my fire pit and we use calcium carbonate in the toothpaste we make and use. There wasn’t going to be waste on this front!

Something I was excited and nervous about was reupholstering a lamp shade I have had for maybe a decade. I am following the guide from Martha Stewart’s video, using fabric from a bag someone gave us.

I am making a jewelry tree, since I don’t have very much jewelry and this is cleaner than what I had been using (a lovely little jewelry box my grandparents had given me… and I passed on to Melody). I want to make it like the Shire’s celebration tree, but I am not sure how to do that exactly.

Our bureaus are getting a little makeover, too.

I am hoping we can get this done before the newest little one arrives this summer, but if not, that’s okay.
I’m so delighted in a gift from a friend that was not only so stunningly beautiful for me, but finally inspired me to hone my vision for a peaceful bedroom space for Daryl and I, and propel me to adjust other rooms as well.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Birth Cave | Beautiful Chaos

  2. Pingback: The Flop | Beautiful Chaos

Leave a Reply

