Looking Ahead to High School health, some more

Standard

image

I was looking over Jeanne’s site for a microscope post I may be imagining I once read, when I came across a post she’d written before or slightly after the AO Year 8 science was redone.
She listed off a bunch of great books, including one she’s mentioned on the forums before, about “our immune system.”
I’ve had this on my Amazon wishlist for awhile now, but wasn’t sure what kind of bias would be present – and there always is one when it comes to conveying how the immune system works and talking about vaccines. To say otherwise would be deceptive.
I don’t think this bias to see it from one side or another is right or wrong – it just IS. (Unless, of course, you hide information for your own profit, that’s questionable to me and outright wrong to not allow informed consent.) I don’t hide my inclination at all (not written by me, I just find much value in it) and I’m amused when others pretend they are not biased.
I digress.

Anyway, I was really glad for her short description of these books, because while I’m more than willing to have us reading books outside of my own belief system, I also want to make sure I give both sides to an issue when it comes to “science” topics that are debated, like creation/evolution, vaccinated bodies versus those with intact immune systems, etc. I enjoy reading both “sides,” even when I choose a side to stand on. 🙂
So, I am interested in Why Aren’t We Dead Yet by Idan Ben-Barak, finding another pro-injection source, and adding in a few things, not quite so CM “living” sources, and some living books.

I’m going to try to obtain vaccine packet inserts for Melody to look at that list the vaccine manufacturer’s own known list of side effects (oh, actually not totally true. It’s the list they are forced into providing by law, and omit anything not mandated to) and “ingredients,” the CDC Pink Book with the ingredients and what they actually mean, an article about Scripture and the ingredients within vaccines, Bought the movie, What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Childhood Vaccinations by Stephanie Cave and Suzanne Humphrey’s Dissolving Illusions.

I’m not sure where I’ll place these yet in the context of health selections, but at least one will definitely be read alongside Ben-Barak’s book. Possibly just Scripture, and the other books will fill in later.
It’s a little more to add to the later years, but not much. It is something important to me, that my children are fully  informed about, to make their own decisions, even if they choose something different than what I have. ❤

Leave a Reply

