The Pits

Standard

At the end of “All Fo’ the Pelvic Flo’,” Katy talks about the arm pits. It’s about 5 minutes of post-Snack footage, and the entire video is well worth every human beings time, if they live in a Westernized society (I.E. lots of chair sitting, desk-hunching, minimal active movement). It includes a very simple massage to get lymph flowing.

She also has an article about this, called Keeping You All Abreast, which also has information for people who recently had breast surgery. If you want to have some guidance on a big possibility of avoiding that surgery, learning about the lymph system is very important. If you want some guidance to avoid common side effects of breast surgery, learning about the lymph system is very important. So… it’s just plain important.

(If you would like even more information on breast health and lymph, I am going to link to some excellent sites at the end.)

I began an experiment a few months ago, in which I started massaging the lymph from only my left armpit, maybe every other day or so. Within a month, I went from no armpit (and a bit of a bulge) to a very noticeable armpit. What I also noticed was that my upper arms, which have always been firm in appearance, then had skin sagging… flapping around!

This made me decide to start all over, so I could document this with pictures. It took about a month for the skin flap and the armpit to disappear.
Interestingly, my armpit is no longer close to bulging anymore, so even with the passage of time, that month and a half of massage helped me, months later, to have a healthier upper body.

So, let’s start. I am going to massage my arms (and breast -keep reading!) once a day, every day, and take a weekly picture for you of my armpit.

Here are my BEFORE pictures, from today:

image

Right armpit

image

Left armpit - interesting to see there is some sign of pitting here!

Personal story – I had a lump in my breast a few years ago, that stayed around for a few years. It left midway through my pregnancy with Leela, but came back after she was born. I was nursing her, so I was very leery of doing anything to my breasts that could make the situation worse and stop her nursing – including squeezing them in a pressure-filled device filled with radiation.

I felt certain it was hormonal, but I was going to make sure. I went to a local thermographer and had my first thermogram in my entire life. As I had researched thermograms fairly thoroughly, I knew what a cancerous spot would look like, and I had instant confirmation that I did not have cancer. A dr confirmed it a week or so later. I still went in 3 months later for a follow-up, so I could have a baseline of my “normal” should I need to go back in later. That was also fine.

The thermographer was amazing. She never touched me, she was so calm and gentle-spirited, and she gave lots of keen insight into things she has noticed over the years, correlating with women who do have breast cancer (poor dental health, poor lymph drainage, thyroid issues). She also gave me a booklet called “Prevention is the new cure!”

Inside, it details what a thermogram is and does, along with some pictures of normal and abnormal thermogram examples; gives information about supporting supplements; goes over how dental health and thyroid function indicate a higher risk of breast cancer (and includes advice such as oil pulling and other healthier dental care practices); statistics from Dressed to Kill, and more.

It’s difficult to pick a favorite part from this little booklet,  but when it comes down to it, it was the practical advise that resulted in my lump going away within days, that I have to choose. That is, the breast massage. I did this a couple times a day for about 3 days, and the lump was completely gone and never has come back. Here’s a picture of it, for you, too:
image

Want to know more about breast health and the lymphatic system? Take a look at some of these helpful links:

The Truth About Bras

Breast Thermography, Part 1 by Gaea Powell, video

Ignoring the Science on Mammograms

This one may be hard to read for some, but as a prevention resource, I can’t *not* share it: What If What You ‘Survived’ Wasn’t Cancer?

When’s The Last Time You Drained Your Lymph Fluids?

Beautiful diagram of lymphatic system

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Finding Fossa | Beautiful Chaos

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Chaos

Leave a Reply

